Home > Memories, Scare Yourself > Old Friends

Old Friends

Over the past week I ran into two friends I have not seen in quite some time.
The first was while working a show at ACT. We had opened house and I came back to the booth to prepare myself for a show when I looked out and saw what looked like someone I knew.
Debating if I should go and see if it was them I ultimately chose to see if it was her.
This was a stage manager I had done several shows with years ago.
At a different and a little difficult theatre which was the last place she would work. She had a great passion for theatre but that place was burning her out. Asking so much and giving so little in return and in the end she found that becoming a therapist was a better fit. To hear that she had transitioned to that and enjoyed it quite a lot made me happy.
How things change.
For an example

image

So Many Years Ago

That was me years ago wearing the candle hands of Lumier from Beauty and Beast.
A fun show to run except the 48 hours I was trapped in Issaquah Washington when a snow storm set down upon the NW.
Great times even if they had to end.
I look at the folks in this picture and many have moved on and changed. I was force out because I made some bad choices and frankly the theatre did the right thing in getting rid of me. But that is a story for another day.
But damn to run into someone like that was quite interesting.

I am once again visiting California because something happened to my family.
Odd how that works out but I managed to finally see one of the few people that I have been in communication with since high school. Not constant communication but off and on since I was 18. The amount of time we have known each other could now drive which is a frightening thought. Thinking about her I remember either the 14 year old I met when i was 18 or the stoner that she was when I got back from college. She is now a single mother paralegal really getting her life together.
It is a good thing to see and also see someone grow in that fashion.
No idea if she feels the same about me but for her to have aged, changed, grown, and become such an adult has been a great transition to witness.
Yet I am left to wonder about my changes and my growth.
But that is a worry for some other day.

Categories: Memories, Scare Yourself
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

